Juror Qualifications & Exemptions

Exemptions for Jury Service
A person may claim a legal exemption if that person (Texas Government Code, Section 62.106):
  • Is over 70 years of age
  • Has legal custody of a child or children younger than 12 years of age and serving on the jury requires leaving the child or children without adequate supervision
  • Is a student of public or private secondary school
  • Is a person enrolled and in actual attendance at an institution of higher education
  • Is an officer or an employee of the senate, the house of representatives, or any department, commission, board, office or other agency in the legislative branch of state government
  • Has served as a petit juror in the county during 24 month period preceding the date the person is to appear
  • Is the primary caretaker of a person who is an invalid unable to care for himself or herself
  • Is a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty and deployed to a location away from the person’s home station and out of the person’s county of residence
Qualifications for Jury Service
To be qualified to serve as a juror you must (Texas Government Code, Section 62.102):
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a citizen of this state and a resident of this city in which you are to serve as a juror
  • Be qualified under the Constitution and laws to vote in the county in which you are to serve as a juror (Note: You do not have to be registered to vote to be qualified to vote)
  • Be of sound mind and good moral character
  • Be able to read and write
  • Not have served as a juror for 6 days during the preceding three months in the county court or during the preceding 6 months in the district court
  • Not have been convicted of, or be under indictment or other legal accusation for, misdemeanor theft or a felony
Disqualification & Disobedience
If you are claiming a disqualification based on the lack of citizenship or lack of residence in the county, you may no longer be eligible to vote in the county. Disobedience of a jury summons or filing a false claim of exemption from jury service is punishable by a fine up to $500. Business reasons are not lawful excuses for failing to appear for jury service.