Show All Answers
To find out if there is a Crime Watch group in your neighborhood, contact the Crime Prevention Office at 972-941-2431
In Plano, any person or business that operates an alarm system with the intent to summon an emergency service of the city is required to have an alarm permit.
If your building has multiple suites leased out, typically the building manager will have a permit for the building’s fire alarm system and each tenant will be responsible for a permit if they choose to operate any additional alarm systems (e.g. burglar, panic, or robbery alarm systems).
Locations operating a smoke detector that is not connected to an alarm panel do not need a permit.
If your system is video surveillance only, a permit is necessary only if it is monitored by a monitoring company that will dispatch emergency services.
To find out how much your traffic ticket will cost, you can contact Plano Municipal Court at 972-941-2199 or look up your citation number using the online search / payment system
More information is also available on the Plano Municipal Court's webpage.
The cost of fingerprinting is per card, each card is $5.00. The organization or agency requiring the fingerprints should provide you with the card.
You can get fingerprinted at the Plano Police Headquarters (909 East 14th Street), Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. or on Saturday, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m.
These services are also available at the Plano Police Substation (Joint Use Facility, 7501-A Independence Parkway) Monday through Friday, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Motor Vehicle Crash Reports generated on or after October 1, 2007 are also available on-line and, in most cases, reports can be accessed within 24 to 72 hours of the incident. On-line crash reports are available for purchase 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
To view or purchase a copy of your crash report, please follow the link below for additional details and a link to the on-line accident report webpage. For further information on obtaining a copy of a motor vehicle crash report, please contact the Police Records Unit at (972) 941-2019 or (972) 208-2077. Visit the Online Accident Reports webpage.
To file a non-emergency police report, you can call 972-424-5678, visit the Plano Police Headquarters at 909 East 14th Street or Plano Police Substation at 7501-A Independence Parkway, or check to see if you are eligible to report your incident online
To report Child Abuse or Neglect, contact the Plano Police Department at 972-424-5678 (or 9-1-1 in case of emergency).
Texas law requires that you also contact the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services at 800-252-5400
Besides Child Abuse, you are required by Texas law to report the following to the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS):
If you believe that someone who is either a child, person aged 65 or older, or an adult with disabilities is being: abused, neglected or exploited, you must report it to DFPS.
A person who reports abuse in good faith is immune from civil or criminal liability. DFPS keeps the name of the person making the report confidential. Anyone who does not report suspected abuse can be held liable for a misdemeanor or felony.
Police Officers respond to motor vehicle crash scenes as report takers and are required to determine contributing factors in the crash; Officers DO NOT determine fault.
If you have spoken to the Officer about the incident and still have differing opinions, you may submit your written description of the incident to the Police Records Unit at either the main station (909 14th Street) or at the Joint Use Facility (7501-A Independence Parkway).
You may also elect to call the Records Unit at (972) 941-2019 or (972) 208-2077 for additional information.
You can submit compliments or complaints to the Plano Police Department's Professional Standards Unit at 972-941-2436. You may also elect to send the compliment or complaint to PSU in writing using an electronically submitted web form. The Compliment or Complaint form is located in the About Us section of the webpage.
Complaints filed against Police Officers or other employees by residents go through the Professional Standards Unit. More information is available in the About Us section of the webpage
Yes, there is a curfew for teens in Plano.
Individuals aged 16 or younger are prohibited from public places without adult supervision between the hours of 11 p.m. and 6 a.m., Sunday through Thursday; and between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. on Friday and Saturday.
Certain exceptions for work and school activities may apply.
Handgun permits are issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Information can be obtained at https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl/ or by calling 512-424-7293.
You can find information about the Plano Citizens Police Academy at the Citizens Police Academy webpage.
Yes, you need a permit to have a garage sale. The permits are available from the City's Building Inspections Department.
You can call 972-941-7140 for additional information
No, the Plano Police Department does not have a Reserve Police Officer Program.
To report speeders, or other traffic violations, contact the Police Department Traffic Unit at 972-208-8055 or file a Special Enforcement Request online
To become a Plano Police Department employee, visit the Human Resources Department webpage or call 972-941-7115 for more information
Yes, the Plano Police Department has a program for teens, the Law Enforcement Explorer Post.This program is for teens to age 20.